Psychotic Waltz – “The God-Shaped Void” Album Out Today

Psychotic Waltz – “The God-Shaped Void” Album Out Today

Plus Launch Video For “While The Spiders Spin

US Progressive Metal pioneers and innovators PSYCHOTIC WALTZ are releasing their 5th studio album, “The God-Shaped Void”, worldwide today via InsideOutMusic. 

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ checked in with the following comment:

“Today is a special day for us, the release of our fifth album, and first record in over two decades. It’s crazy to think that 35 years ago, the five of us started playing together in Aslan, which a few years later we re-named Psychotic Waltz. We can’t thank our fans enough for their enormous patience biding their time until the album was done. But the wait is officially over! The album basically picks up where we left off in 1997, with the added benefit of modern technology and perhaps a more mature songwriting perspective. We would also like to give thanks to Jens Bogren for his great job with the mixing and mastering, and Ulrich Wild for his tracking work. It’s definitely our best-sounding album to date, and we can’t forget the amazing work of our longtime collaborator Travis Smith for the outstanding artwork. Turn it up, and enjoy!”

Psychotic Waltz – “The God-Shaped Void” Album Out Today

To further stress today’s street date of the album, PSYCHOTIC WALTZ are pleased to also launch a video clip directed by Costin Chioreanu / Twight13Media (Leprous, At The Gates, Borknagar, etc.) for the song “While The Spiders Spin”, which can now be seen here:

And here is a comment by the band about the single/video:

“The third single is ‘While The Spiders Spin’, which was the first song we played live from the new album, back when we did some shows in 2017. The acoustic intro was added later. Costin once again did a great job capturing the mood of the song, which is a commentary on the impersonal nature of modern society and how our phones and devices only seem to isolate rather than unite us.” 

Check out the two previously released singles/videos here:
“All The Bad Men”:
“Devils And Angels”:

Written and recorded with their full original line-up, “The God-Shaped Void”, showcases the first new PSYCHOTIC WALTZ music in 23 years and is receiving critical praise across the board, with some media feedback examples as follows:

A collection of outstanding, timeless songs.” – 9/10 points review & “Album of the Month!“ Rock Hard (Germany)

“…close to a wonder“ 10/10 points review & “Album of the Month!” – Deaf Forever (Germany)

“The long wait has paid off: The new record is a complete work of art – visually, musically and lyrically!“ – 8.5/10 points review – Eclipsed (Germany)
“They still got it – and now they finally have the chance to reach a big audience.” – 6/7 points review & Soundcheck place # 3 – Metal Hammer (Germany)

“You couldn’t wish for a better return.” – 9,5/10 points review – Rocks Magazine (Germany)

“A sublime and very, very welcome return.” – Zero Tolerance (UK)
“Psychotic Waltz are a prog-metal gem waiting to be discovered.” – Kerrang! (UK)
“as detailed, precise and hook-laden as ever.” – Prog Magazine (UK)

“Album of the Month!“ – Metal Hammer (Greece)

The basic tracks for PSYCHOTIC WALTZ’s “The God-Shaped Void” were recorded with engineer Ulrich Wild in the band’s hometown of San Diego, then the rest of the recordings at Studio D in Austria and finally the material was mixed/mastered by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Devin Townsend, Fates Warning) at Fascination Street Studios in Sweden. Artwork was created by longtime visual partner Travis Smith (Katatonia, Riverside, Nevermore).

Here is the tracklisting for “The God-Shaped Void”:

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ – “The God-Shaped Void”
1. Devils And Angels (06:29)

2. Stranded (04:49)

3. Back To Black (03:52)

4. All The Bad Men (03:59)

5. The Fallen (05:49)

6. While The Spiders Spin (05:49)

7. Pull The String (04:54)

8. Demystified (05:12)

9. Season Of The Swarm (05:57) *** Bonus Track

10. Sisters Of The Dawn (06:41)

11. In The Silence (05:16)

The album’s bonus track “Season Of The Swarm” is available on the limited Mediabook CD (which comes with expanded booklet and an exclusive logo patch), on the vinyl edition as well as on the Digital versions. A standard Jewelcase CD edition is available as well. The vinyl edition of “The God-Shaped Void” comes as 2LP on 180gr. vinyl with gatefold packaging and with the entire album on CD as bonus. Note: All limited coloured vinyl editions are sold out!

All formats (To be seen above in packshot!) can be purchased here:


Devon Graves – vocals

Dan Rock – guitars & keys

Brian McAlpin – guitars

Norman Leggio – drums

Ward Evans – bass

PSYCHOTIC WALTZ discography:

A Social Grace (1990)

Into The Everflow (1992)

Mosquito (1994)

Bleeding (1996)

The God-Shaped Void (2020)