Quick Questions With Thomas Wilby Gang

Quick Questions With Thomas Wilby Gang

Named after the infamous peyote addled gunslinger, Thomas Wilby Gang play raw swampy country blues rock. Although based in Wakefield, UK, their debut album “Backwoods Crackin'” has had airplay in the states, landing them a small deal with New Jersey label ‘Kool Kat Musik’.

A second album is currently under production and due for release mid 2019. Check them out on spotify, itunes, soundcloud, deezer, google play, amazon, etc.

Quick Questions With Thomas Wilby Gang

Photo by John Jowett

Quick Questions

1. Who inspired you to start playing?
I was in a band with my mates at school. I played keyboards and I always selected the ‘rock guitar’ sound. I quickly decided that it would be better to simply ditch the keyboard and get a guitar. So, possibly the Yamaha DX7 inspired me to play guitar!

2. Which piece of equipment couldn’t you live without?
Green Carrot Pedal’s “Fuzz Pickle” – I use it on almost everything. I tend to use it on a mild fuzz setting. Unlike overdrive it doesn’t seem to squash the sound too much and it adds a really nice tone.

3. What’s your favourite album of the year so far?
Knuckle’s album “Life is Hard When You’re Soft Inside”. Loud fuzzy punky blues guitars on top of stomping drums and bass. What’s not to like?

4. If you could have a lesson from anyone, alive or dead, who would it be?
If it was a guitar lesson then I’d consider Mick Taylor because, in my opinion, he was the best guitarist the Rolling Stones ever had. Also like me he plays slide on his pinky and then riffs with the rest of his hand. If it was a vocal lesson I’d chose Steve Marriot, without a doubt. I tried emulating his voice when I was young but his vocal range was too hard for me to grasp.

5. What is your number one tip for any new player?
You’ve got to enjoy doing it or there’s no point. I taught myself to play. Learning the riffs from bands that I enjoyed listening to made it so much easier.


Our second album “Wasters Regards” came out on the 1st June and it’s available to buy from our website on vinyl / cd and also online on Spotify, Deezer, Apple Music, Amazon Music, etc…
You can reach us online at